Fort Collins Chapter History


The Fort Collins Chapter was founded in 1990 by Beth Louise Deakins. An ardent philanthropist, Beth took an active role in many local community organizations. She served on the Academic Advisory Board of Wingshadow, volunteered at Poudre School District and served as a counselor for the Alpha Center for Women. Along with her husband, John, Beth was one of the founding members of the Alexis de Tocqueville Society of Larimer County and was given the 2000 Alexis de Tocqueville Society Award.  Beth passed away in 2005 but left a lasting legacy in the Fort Collins community.

Some of the Fort Collins chapter’s original philanthropies included the Larimer County Food Bank, Poudre Valley Hospital and Meals on Wheels. These organizations are still counted on our list of philanthropies today.

Since its inception, NCL, Inc. Fort Collins Chapter has continued to add new philanthropies, strengthen relationships with long-standing philanthropies and foster opportunities for mother and daughters to volunteer and develop leadership skills together.